How I passed 70-576

I had the good fortune today to sit, and thankfully pass, exam 70-576 – PRO: Designing and Developing Microsoft SharePoint 2010 Applications. Aside from the fact the computer tried to tell me I was a no-show even after turning up half an hour early, it all went rather smoothly.

I’ve had a bit of experience sitting the Microsoft exams in the past. Going back as far as June 2008 sitting the core .NET and Winforms exams and then moving on to 3 of the 4 2007 SharePoint exams in 2009/2010, so I figured I kind of knew what to expect. This is probably the most amount of study I’ve put into a cert as well and as such I’ve learnt more than I ever have before – definitely the main benefit you get out of sitting the exam is the amount of content you learn to pass it.

But anyway, back to the point. I discovered a lot of different valuable resources that assisted me along the way to passing this exam. A few I didn’t end up getting to but i’ll include them anyway for the sake of completeness – they may come in handy.

Blogs: Rather than create these types of posts which was my original intention, I thankfully found some existing blogs that covered off what I wanted – namely breaking down the exam into it’s components and either explaining or linking off to MSDN/Technet content. The most useful I found was Martin Bodocky’s set of posts but beware – it’s definitely not for the short of time. This formed the majority of my study, and while the content could be found on MSDN/Technet directly – his posts saved me a lot of time!

Another blog I read towards the start was Pedro Pinto’s guide to the exam – it covered a reasonable amount of content and would be more attractive to those short on time or allergic to constant link-clicking in MSDN.

Training and Labs: Admittedly I never got to any of this content. I would eventually like to, but time didn’t permit. As it turned out, I didn’t really need it to pass the exam – but i’m sure it would suit those more inclined to hands-on learning rather than reading.

Videos: Now this is where I struck gold. Watched all of these and they were well worth it. The exam-cram series by Ted Pattison is a must see – shout out to my colleague Elliot Wood for tracking them down.

That about covers it. I’ll sign off with a bit of my own advice. Read the questions carefully – very carefully. Use process of elimination – there will be the obvious 1 or 2 incorrect answers but more important to see is (on some occassions) the 1 word in the question that makes all the difference to the answer. If you want advice on how to pass 70-573 then take a look at my post How I passed 70-573.

Good luck!

2 Responses to How I passed 70-576

  1. Martin Bodocky says:

    Hi Matt,

    I’m really happy that my posts were useful :) I did exam too before. And from my experience questions are sometime so confused and tricky. Be honest i failed my fisrt attempt.

    Well done !

  2. Pingback: 70-576 » Christopher Scolt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

